“My husband and I spent 2 nights in paradise!”

November 5, 2013

in Guest Reviews

Image of the guest book at Draaihoek Lodge, West Coast South Africa

“My husband and I spent 2 nights in paradise!”

My husband and I spent 2 nights in paradise! If you want peace and quiet in a beautiful setting surrounded by birds and other wildlife this is for you. We were spoil t rotten! Delicious breakfasts and gourmet dinners in a well run restaurant. Our room was clean and luxurious. A heated pool and beautiful private beach just a short walk from the lodge was a real treat. No TV but this didn’t bother us as the huge bed and roaring fire was all we needed to lull us off to sleep listening to the roar of the sea nearby. Thanks to Marietjie and her team. We will definitely be back!

Beverley M
05.11.2013

“Next time we’ll stay longer!”

Our second visit to this little piece of paradise and we had such a wonderful, relaxing time again – next time we’ll stay longer! Thank you for the amazing hospitality and great service – such a treat!

Warren, Lynn & Tessa Minster
28.04.2014

“Really enjoyed our stay!”

Really enjoyed our stay! Extremely comfortable room with a huge fireplace. For dinner we chose the sole and steak on the menu – cooked to absolute perfection.
Went for a walk along the wooden pathway to a beautiful, unspoiled, sandy beach. We only stayed one night on our way to see the flowers but would love to stay longer – a really great place to unwind.
Breakfast was everything from fresh fruit and cereals to a delicious full English breakfast which my husband chose and a huge fluffy omelette which I enjoyed. I would definitely return to this lovely spot again and hopefully stay for longer and spend some time visiting the Nature Reserve across the road.

Maureen Rosedale
10.08.2013

“An Amazing Culinary Experience”

Wonderful setting, lovely to see the indigenous vegetation and wildlife protected. Had an amazing culinary experience thanks to Michael’s kitchen expertise. An unforgetable weekend in God’s beautiful creation.

Anita and Daniel Crowe
South Africa
20.10.2013

“Peace and tranquility on the menu”

A really special place to chill out with peace and tranquility on the menu. Good food and service are also constant companions. Thank you to all.

Rob and Joanita Nelson
South Africa
17.02.2013

“Waar in de wereld vind men zoiets?”

Een wonderlijke locatie met onbeschadigde natuur. Waar in de wereld vind men zoiets? Blyf zo doorgaan!

Anne Marie en Paul van Es
Nederland
13.02.2013

“A Happy Accident Finding you here!”

Beautifully desolate with ridiculously good food and service.  Return is imminent.

Jonty & Paula van Rensburg
04.02.2011

“We shall Return”

We have so enjoyed our stay at Draaihoek.  The Lodge was perfect for our family and we were blessed with some beautiful weather for a winter break. Thank you to the staff for being so attentive and kind.  We will be back!

The Hart family
03.07.2010

“A True Gem”

A secret getaway, a true gem.  Tranquil beaches and inviting rooms – we had a fantastic and relaxing time.  Thank you for the hospitality . . . read up on my story at www.findingafrica.com

Rebecca Solomon & Jacques Visagie
Cape Town
07.03.2010

“We Shall Return”

We stumbled on Draaihoek en route to Franschoek from Clanwilliam at New Year.  We stopped for lunch. What serendipity, what. luck.  We returned for 3 nights this week.  Without doubt this is one of our great finds!  The room was excellent.  Standard of cleanliness superb.   The food was prepared with such care and it was served with such grace.  Unfortunately all good things come to an end & we have to return to Franschoek and our house.  Above all let us thank Margi & Zanne for their excellent service.  They never missed a beat! They were attentive to our every request.  Fabulous.  In the words of General Mc Arthur – “we shall return”!

Doug & Jean Pitt
Franschoek, RSA / Glassgow, Scotland
23.01.2010

“Excelente !!”

Hemos Pasado 5 dias maravinosos en este lugar.  Disfrutando del acosamiento, cenas, playa … y sobretoud por la amabilldad y buen hacer de las personar que forman el volverenos!

Carlos Jonquera & Angela Lidnes
Santander, Espana
07.01.2010

“Thank You”

We had a fantastic stay at Draaihoek Lodge.  Thanks to the whales, the delicious dinner and the romantic fire at night.  Thank You !

Remco & Janneke Griep
Haarlem, The Netherlands
02.10.2009

“Thank u 4 an AWESOME weekend”

Christine & Marietjie, well,  I don’t know how to say thank u enough – u swept me off my feet.  Yr surprises were awesome.  Thank u 4 an AWESOME weekend from all of us.  The passion, you 2 have in what you are doing, is great – don’t ever stop.

We felt proud to bring our friends to Draaihoek Lodge to celebrate Jurgen’s 50th.  It was perfect.

Regina, Jurgen & Markus Apel
Cape Town, RSA
14.09.2009

“Christine made my 60th birthday so very special”

Such a wonderful place and your staff and you Christine made my 60th birthday so very special.  That cake was amazing! Thank you so very much.

Annie & Peter Rowcroft
UK
07.11.2009

“What a wonderful oasis”

What a wonderful oasis in the middle of nowhere – we came for a cup of tea and stayed for 2 nights!  Wonderful hostess & great chefs and staff – and so friendly.  Hope to come back soon.  Thank you all so much.

Keith & Johanna Goldsack
UK
29.09.2009

“Grobler verjaarsdag naweek”

Wat ‘n voorreg, wat ‘n fees der feeste! Beter kon dit nie  – al 27 saam.  Die diens & kamers en kos en gasvryheid was uit die boonste rakke.  Vreeslik dankie vir die allerbeste behandeling.

Jacques & Irene Grobler & 25 gaste
Pretoria, RSA
17.07.2009

“Baie dankie”

Het was hier goed toeven, rust, riumte en service beyond duty! We hebben er van genoten en bevelen Draaihoek Lodge van harte aan in Nederland.  Baie dankie, mooi bly ta ta.

Gert en Janny van Dolderen
Alphen  a/d  Rhyn, Nederland
22.05.2009

“Dank aan julle gastvryheid”

Wat hebben wij genoten van ons verblijf hier (helaas maar 1 nachtje) Wat een rust eindeloos strand, dolfynen prachtige sonsondergang.  Dank aan julle gastvryheid.

Jan & Tineke Kloosterboer, Nederland
24.02.2009

“See you next year”

It was our second stay and it was even better then we remembered it, just haven on earth.  Many, many thanks to all of  you for making our stay so great.  See you next year.

Salona  & Alex Gerber
07.02.2009

“Excellent food and service”

My second visit,  as peaceful & relaxing as the first, food and service excellent.  My wife was due to come with me, due to unfortunate circumstances she could not – next time she will share with me.

Rob Wallace
Athens ,  Greece
07.12.2008

“Hier gaan jy weg met vrede in jou gemoed”

Hier kom ‘n mens aan met storms wat in jou woed.  Hier gaan jy weg met vrede in jou gemoed.  Wat ‘n wonderlike plek, maar meer nog hoe wonderlik die mense.  Die diens het ek nog nerens anders teegekom.  Almal hier laat jou voel jy het tuisgekom.  Een van die beste maaltye in ons lewe.  Die seekosbord wat mens hier belewe . . . Die hotel bedryf kan mens verveel met eentonige kunsmatigheid – julle het dit reggekry om hier saam te weef ‘n tappeserie van opregtheid.  Dankie.

Nico en Mia Verhoef
Stellenbosch, RSA
08.12.2007

“Fantastic work”

Dear All,

Every single details was there to make our stay an enjoyable one!  Thanks a lot and keep up this fantastic work, it’s lovely.

Veronique & Raf
Hanselt, Belgium
21.11.2007

“The best hospitality in the Cape”

A wonderful peace of heaven you have here, would like it to remain a best kept secret!   Looking forward to a Chocolate Dream weekend.

Dante family

“Africa, here we come.”

De vakantie waarvan we maandenlang hebben uitgekiken, gefantaseerd en gedrromd over wat we allemaal zouden gaan doen.

Bompa en Bonnie,

De droom is werklikheid gebleken.  De nieuwe plek is op die ene gewillige ia na volmaakt.  My vertrekken op terugreis en nemen mee:  onvergetelijke dolfijnen in die golven, bokjes op die vlakte, vlammen op het strand, specta…… zonsondergangen en een unieke sterrehemel, het geluid van de wind, de warmte van het zand, het recept van pitabroodjies, . . . onse koffer blijkt te klein.

Wij hopen dat ook julle saam hier net so mag uitkomen en het success mag bevestigen worden.  Tot binnekort.

Ann, Paul & Kids
Julie 2005

All the guest reviews on this page are taken from the guest book at the reception desk.

What's Next

Comments on this entry are closed.